Readathon2015: First 10 books

Readathon1_MainImage_cropped

In 2015 I participated in readathon2015 of a (greek) website about books, called: So little sleeping and so much reading.

The rules: Somuchreading.com provided a list with 30 book categories. We had to choose 24 of them and finish them in 2015. After finishing a book, we could upload a picture of it on a special webpage.

I decided to finish all 30 categories and use my cat Zizi as a model in all the pictures.

Here I am presenting the first 10 books I read for readathon2015. Beware, some covers will be in greek!

1. Jar City by Arnaldur Indriðason

2015-01-05 23.02.36

Readathon Category: a crime book

A nice typical North European crime book. But extra points for being set in Iceland!

2. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

2015-01-06 12.24.20

Readathon Category: a funny book

Very clever book and very clever sense of humor. Also, a must-read if you want to call yourself a proper “geek”.

I mean, don’t you want to know why some people answer “42” when you ask them “What is the answer?”. I had a professor that did that! You will also learn why you should always have a towel with you when you travel!

I liked it a lot, but for some reason I didn’t love it. That’s why I didn’t finish the whole “trilogy” (which is actually 6 books).

3. The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams

2015-01-07 10.12.38

Readathon Category: a book that is part of a series of three or more books

Book two of the “trilogy”, equally clever and funny. Still no love from me… No chemistry? Or should I blame the translation?

4. Life, the Universe and Everything by Douglas Adams

2015-01-13 10.33.36

Readathon Category: a book from a publishing house you usually don’t read

Book three… and it is starting to get tiring…. Yes yes, clever and stuff again… But I need something different. It is the beginning of the readathon and my mind is already in the other books I want to read.

5. Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami

2015-01-13 11.59.24

Readathon Category: a book from the list on NY Times of 100 notable books of 2014 

I should admit now that I am a Haruki Murakami fan. Or that’s what I thought. After reading his less good books and also more Japanese authors, I realized I am mainly a fan of Japanese literature.

This book was very good for the first 3/4, typical Murakami style. However, the last 1/4 was disappointedly ordinary.

6. The Elephant Vanishes by Haruki Murakami

2015-01-22 10.29.55

Readathon Category: a book with short stories

Another Murakami book, with short stories. I decided I really love books with short stories!

Some were not that good, but some other were brilliant! I liked especially “The Dancing Dwarf”, it was an absolutely amazing story. Furthermore, the first chapter of “The Wind-up Bird Chronicle” (the book that made me love Murakami) is there.

Overall, I would say that most of the short stories of this book are very good.

7. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

2015-01-19 14.50.37

Readathon Category: a fantasy novel

This is one of the books that technically I should love… except I didn’t. Nothing wrong with it, I just didn’t “feel it”.

It is a nice fantasy story with a young boy and his strange neighbors, set up in some farm houses in the middle of nowhere in USA.

I guess I need to read something more from Neil Gaiman.

8. Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

2015-02-10 23.25.01

Readathon Category: a book that you won or borrowed

The Shining no 2! It felt like two books… and the one I liked the most was the “normal” part.

The young boy from The Shining is all grown-up and has turned into alcoholism to help him cope with all the weird stuff that happened in his childhood. Stephen King as usual writes very good, the pages are turning extremely fast. Everything was interesting in this novel, except the main story itself. I liked reading about each character, but I didn’t really care what will happen in the end, who will win or if the world would end.

9. Right to Life by Jack Ketsum

2015-02-21 10.29.25

Readathon Category: a book that you finished in one day

Another sick story from Ketchum, about a couple torturing a pregnant woman. Unfortunately his books don’t look that sick nowadays, real life has caught up.

10. Lullaby by Chuck Palahniuk

2015-02-22 11.59.17

Readathon Category: a scary book

Ok, I bought it as a scary book. It is not my fault if it is more clever than scary!

Why haven’t I read all of his books yet? I really like his style!

In this book, a group of people are traveling around USA to discover all copies of a book that contains a lullaby that kills everyone that hears it. On the same time, they all know the lullaby… and can therefore kill each other or the whole world just by reciting it.

That was it for now! Part 2 and Part 3 of the Readathon2015 will follow soon!

8 thoughts on “Readathon2015: First 10 books

  1. A πηρα και εγω μερος,δεν ποσταρα πολλα γιατι το ξεχασα,τωρα μου το θυμησες.Well.Χαχαχαχαχ,μαναμ ειναι για δεσιμο!

    Like

    1. Σύντομα αλλάζουμε χρονιά, θα κάνεις το readathon του 2016! Εμένα μου άρεσε πολύ, διάβασα πολύ περισσότερα βιβλία απ’ότι θα διάβαζα κανονικά και “αναγκάστηκα” να ανακαλύψω διαφορα διαμάντια που κανονικά δεν θα έβρισκα.

      Like

Leave a Reply

