Readathon2015: Books 11 to 20

Readathon2_MainImage_Cropped

Continuing the readathon2015 of So little sleeping and so much reading

(here are the first 10 books I read).

11. Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut

2015-02-28 22.18.27

Readathon Category: A book that you discovered through  So little sleeping and so much reading

World War II, the firebombing of Dresden AND aliens AND time-travel!

How random does that sound?

Well, the book is brilliant, read it!

12. Doctor Zhivago by Boris Pasternak

2015-04-01 10.47.42

Readathon Category: a book from an author that has won a Nobel Prize

Well, he gave it back, but still he won it!

A big (size-wise but also content-wise) russian novel. Of course it was tiring sometimes (russian literature about the beginning of the 20th century!), but still interesting.

And how often do we get to read about revolutionary Russia?

Also, consider the history behind that novel, how it was not published for a long time, forbidden in Russia, Pasternak had to renounce his Nobel prize… I think it is worth reading!

13. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

2015-04-05 14.04.44

Readathon Category: a favorite book you want to read again

First time I read it in English. I still loved it.

I don’t think I need to introduce this book, I hope everyone has read it. I have read it at least 15 times, it was one of my favorite books growing up.

After reading it, I watched all the movie versions: 1933, 1949, 1994 and the anime!

14. Almost Transparent Blue by Ryu Murakami

2015-04-14 19.34.46

Readathon Category: a novel by an author under 30 years old

Well, he was under 30 when he wrote it, he is in his 50s now.

Sex and drugs in post World War II Japan. Orgies in the American base. The novel was considered very shocking when it was first published. The main character has the same name as the author, I think it is possible that it was based on real events.

I liked it and it is read pretty fast.

15. Strange Weather in Tokyo by Hiromi Kawakami

2015-04-24 13.28.40

Readathon Category: a book you chose because of the cover

Amazon suggested it, I liked the cover and I bought it.

I LOVED IT! A very cute story about a young woman that meets one of her old professors from high-school in a bar. A strange relationship slowly grows between them, is it friendship or something more? Two lonely people in Tokyo with a big age difference. Where will that lead?

16. Fahrenheit 451 by  Ray Bradbury

2015-06-01 20.16.57

Readathon Category: a science fiction novel

Books are banned in this dystopian novel and the main character is “fireman”. Firemen are responsible for burning books. But then something changes inside him…

I wanted something more from this novel, if it was bigger and analyzed more how the world is and the feelings of the main character, maybe I would have liked it more.

However, it was written in 1953, pretty inspired for that time.

17. The secret Diary of Adrian Mole, age 13 3/4 by Sue Townsend

2015-06-02 09.55.30

Readathon Category: a book with a kid or teenager as a main character

Very entertaining! I will read the other books of the series too when I find some time.

18. Aivali by Soloup

2015-06-07 18.09.45

Readathon Category: a graphic novel

So far this greek graphic novel is not translated in another language, it will soon be translated in turkish.

A great graphic novel with true stories from Greeks and Turks in the beginning of the 20th century, when greater powers (Greek/Turkish/foreign governments) made the simple people living together in Asia Minor fight with each other.

(PS. I read it while I was in Greece, and my cat wasn’t there, so she “modeled” in this picture through an old photo)

19. Kassandra and the Wolf by Margarita Karapanou

2015-06-09 22.39.31

Readathon Category: a book with an animal on the cover or the title

I did not like it, but I will not say it was bad either.

Just not my style, I like coherent books. But it had some good moments.

Also I am starting to be against books/movies with child-molestation, it is an easy way to provoke, I am not shocked anymore. If you want to use child-molestation, at least use it FOR something, not just use it to shock your readers/viewers in order to be considered edgy.

(same PS applies as above)

20. Έρως ανίκατε μάσαν by Auguste Corteau (free translation: Love wins over food)

2015-06-15 21.41.04

Readathon Category: a book that was published for the first time in 2015

This book only exists in greek so far.

I was reading it while traveling back from Greece to Netherlands alone.

Which was pretty embarrassing, because I was laughing all the time and people probably thought I was weird.

It was very very funny… I rarely laugh while reading a book, let alone in public!

4 thoughts on “Readathon2015: Books 11 to 20

    1. I thought it was funny 🙂 Depends what you look for in a book, just making you laugh is also acceptable to me, even without adding anything to my personality/knowledge/view of the world etc.

      Like

Leave a Reply

