My “new/used” books

All of the used books I had ordered a month ago finally arrived!

Well, they had arrived 20 days ago, except from one (bad bad seller 🙂 ).

Many of them cost 1 penny, but with about 5 british pounds shipping costs. I read an article about these kind of books here.

I chose to buy them used, not only because (despite of the shipping costs) they were cheaper than buying them new, but mostly because it gave me the chance to buy them in hardcover.

They are all very clean and very good quality, some wrapped in plastic, maybe with library stamps or an inscription in the first page, which make me love them even more.

(The best inscription I have seen so far is from a copy of Seraphina:

“To Marilyn with love. From Mummy, Daddy, Xmas 1960”)

 

Anyway, here they are:

2015-11-27 11.53.06

I will present them according to how I chose them:

1. The books I saw on the greek blog Over the place:

2015-11-27 11.55.00

I can’t wait to read these ones!!!

  • Forgive me, Leonard Peacock: A teenager plans on killing his ex-best friend and then himself, after saying goodbye to the people he cares about.
  • The Age of Miracles: The earths starts revolving around the sun slower and slower. The days become bigger and bigger. How will that affect life? (I CAN’T WAIT TO READ THIS ONE ESPECIALLY!)
  • The Shock of the Fall: A book about a schizophrenic teenager

 

2. The books I saw in the greek website somuchreading.com:

2015-11-27 11.58.29

  • The Portable Dorothy Parker: Eleni (Over the Place) also recommended Dorothy Parker. She looks like a writer/poet I would definitely enjoy. This is the book that was delayed. Also it was pretty expensive, because I had to have this cover! (yeah I know, it is the content that matters and I suck, but I don’t care, I have a pretty book 🙂 )
  • Bel Canto: actually I  knew this book, but somuchreading reminded me of it. I don’t even remember what it is about, something about terrorists and latin america. But I hear many good things about it!
  • The Weirdness: A Novel: Once again I am horrible, because I mainly bought it for the cover. I read the description, it looked interesting, plus somuchreading himself had it in his wishlist, so I assumed it will be good.

 

3. The books I discovered myself:

African writers

2015-11-27 11.57.16

After reading  my first african book (Americanah), I decided that I want to read more books from this continent. We have no idea how life is some African countries, except from what the TV shows, which is either hunger or crime and there is really so much more than that.

The pretty one

Yes, again I chose looks! But look at it! Plus, it is completely new, but because of this flaw on the cover, they sold it as used, half-price.

It is also from the Classics reimagined series, as was the Pride and Prejudice in a previous post of mine.

I will finally read The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and do it in style!

The random/uncategorized ones

2015-11-27 11.58.54

  • The Girl in the Road: Young woman in futuristic (!) Mumbai wakes up with snake bites and for some reason she has to return to Ethiopia. Another girl, after witnessing horrible events, also tries to go to Ethiopia through Sahara. The Goodreads blurb also mentions: “The Girl in the Road melds the influences of Margaret Atwood, Neil Gaiman, and Erin Morgenstern for a dazzling debut”. My only problem is, how come no one has suggested this book to me yet? Why did I find it randomly, while it sounds so good? I will read it and let you know!
  • Made you up: Amazon suggested it to me and it was on my wishlist until I saw it in Over the place and decided to buy it. A schizophrenic young woman tries to understand what is real and what is an illusion in her everyday life. Looks very interesting!
  • Jack Glass: Jack Glass is the murdered, we know it from the beginning. But as the novel continues we learn more about why he did it. Also something about asteroids. I don’t know, I bought it a long time ago, somewhere online I had found a very good review about it and it looked very interesting, kind of sci-fi also if I remember correctly. Anyway, I will tell you more when I read it!
  • Bedtime stories: Short stories from many great authors (including Nabocov, Haruki Murakami, Neil Gaiman, Ursula LeGuin, F.S.  Fitzgerald and more). Why not? Big authors, short stories, looks good!

 

The end!

Believe it or not, I have more books arriving today, I bought them using a lame excuse. Please no one suggest any more books to me!

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “My “new/used” books

    1. Όχι, έχω φτιάξει στην ουσία δυο blog και όταν πατάς στο ελληνικά σε στέλνει στο άλλο blog. Ναι, ειναι μπλέξιμο απ’οτι βλεπω, δεν ξέρω πως να το κάνω για να μην μπερδεύεστε και βλεπετε το αγγλικό μου. Μάλλον πρέπει να κάνεις follow στο ελληνικο και unfollow σε αυτό.

      Like

  1. The girl in the road’s author is actually a friend of Steffi’s! Im very curious about the book, let me know how it is! There some very interesting titles among the rest of the books toont, you’ve gotten me back into reading 🙂 thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

