Graphic Novels I read in 2015

These are the graphic novels I read in 2015 in random order:

The “educational” ones:

I think it is meant for children, I didn’t like it at all. It is about Shakleton’s journey to the South Pole. But it is very short and doesn’t even give any information. I also didn’t like the drawing style.

The experiences of the artist in North Korea, where he worked some months as a cartoon designer. The book shows some interesting North Korean info that we don’t know and gives a nice insight into everyday life there.

The life of Olympe de Gouges, a theatrical writer and an early feminist. Informative enough, the drawing is not good and it is just a biography of Olympe.

  • Aivali, by Soloúp ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2

Four stories, included in a bigger story, about Aivali, Greek and Turkish people, how they lived together but they were led into fighting and killing. A really nice job.

  • Vincentby Barbara Stok ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

The life of Vincent van Gogh. I liked the art a lot, the story was nothing special.

 

The “real-life” ones:

A young man and woman, living together in London, about to get married, get fired from their work. They deal with it differently, there is of course a lot of fighting etc. I didn’t like the end, but other than that, it describes a very realistic situation very insightfully.

A young girl on a road trip with some classmates she doesn’t know. Uff, it started so good, but then it became weird and didn’t make any sense in the end. You can try it and check for yourselves.

A nice summer story of a girl vacationing with her family. I liked it! Both the story and the art.

The “fantasy” ones:

I really liked this one. A sculptor makes a deal with Death (?), in order to get great sculpturing abilities. The art is good and the story avoids clichés you would expect.

  • Nimonaby Noelle Stevenson ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2

I know everyone loves this one. Unfortunately I didn’t 😦 I liked the drawing style a lot, but the story was not that strong in my opinion. The story of a young girl/shapeshifter that wants to become the sidekick of the “bad guy” of the realm. I don’t know, probably I just wanted it to be bigger in order to appreciate the story. I mean, the idea is certainly very good…

The story of Earth, but told in a different way, through native myths. A very nice, lyrical  and magical book. Try it!

  • Hereby Richard McGuire ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

This is my review about this book. I really liked the original idea: imagine a camera in the corner of your living room, taking pictures from the beginning until the end of time. Then combine these images. There are also small stories to follow. This is ART!

  • I Kill Giantsby Joe Kelly & J M Ken Niimura ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2

I really liked that one! A teenage girl who claims to be killing giants, which costs her trips to the school psychologist and bullying. A great story. I should probably put it in the “real-life” category, but… giants! 🙂

  • Saga: Volume 1by Brian K. Vaughan, Fiona Staples ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2

A space couple, from two different planets on war, fall in love and have a child. Everyone wants to kill them and take the child. A very interesting world, full of weird creatures. I look forward to reading the rest.

 

 

To sum up:

I ❤ as stories (regardless of stars given):

I Kill Giants

The Sculptor

This One Summer

Saga: Volume 1

And you should also buy:

Here

The Encyclopedia of Early Earth

Nimona

 

 

2 thoughts on “Graphic Novels I read in 2015

Leave a Reply

