My Stephen King books

Following Cherrybookish’s example, I will mention all the Stephen King books I have read.

Some of them I’ve read more than 10 years ago, so I don’t remember much.

Common characteristics of many Stephen King’s books:

– The main character is a writer

– They take place in Maine (where Stephen King also lives)

 

This is the chronological order with which I read them, as far as I can remember:

1. The Tommyknockers

Something was happening in Bobbi Anderson’s idyllic small town of Haven, Maine. Something that gave every man, woman, and child in town powers far beyond ordinary mortals. Something that turned the town into a death trap for all outsiders. Something that came from a metal object, buried for millennia, that Bobbi accidentally stumbled across.

I was about 15 when I read it and I was very impressed! It was one of the best things I had read! I don’t know if I would have the same opinion now, it has been many years!

2. Το Αυτό

Hard to describe this book… There were some boys and a girl. And a clown. But it wasn’t always a clown. It was their worst nightmare. Many years later they get together again to face IT one more time.

Whenever they ask me which is my favorite Stephen King book, this is my answer. I also read it many many years ago, but I still remember that I liked it a lot. It had something that Stephen King frequently uses in his books and I like it: a group of kids has a life-changing adventure that they will always carry with them.

3. Dreamcatcher

Four childhood friends, united by secrets, are caught in the quarantine zone when something crashes into the remote forests of Maine; and the question becomes who will avoid being eaten alive by alien fungi, torn from the inside by alien ferrets, possessed by alien minds or menaced by a psychotic military commander to whom ruthlessness has become a macho ego trip?

I remember that I liked it then. I also remember they made it into an awful movie. And it had the same thing that I like: a group of kids has a life-changing adventure that they will always carry with them. But the adult part was not that good this time.

4. Insomnia

Guy can’t sleep and sees weird stuff – colors, auras etc.

I don’t remember absolutely anything, except that I have read it! Probably I wasn’t impressed at all.

5. Salem’s Lot

Thousands of miles away from the small township of ‘Salem’s Lot, two terrified people, a man and a boy, still share the secrets of those clapboard houses and tree-lined streets. They must return to ‘Salem’s Lot for a final confrontation with the unspeakable evil that lives on in the town.

Even then, before all these similar kind of books came out (I am not saying more to avoid spoilers) I did not enjoy it. That was the point when I realized that Stephen King was not perfect.

6. The Stand

And here is the bleak new world of the day after: a world stripped of its institutions and emptied of 99 percent of its people. A world in which a handful of panicky survivors choose sides — or are chosen. A world in which good rides on the frail shoulders of the 108-year-old Mother Abagail — and the worst nightmares of evil are embodied in a man with a lethal smile and unspeakable powers: Randall Flagg, the dark man.

And that was when Stephen King made the comeback in my reading favorites. Th first post-apocalyptic book I read, when there was nothing post-apocalyptic (book or tv-show). I loved it of course!

7. The Running Man

A dystopian future in which the poor are seen more by the government as worrisome rodents than actual human beings. Ben Richards, is desperate for money and enlists himself in a true reality style game show where the objective is to merely stay alive.

A book that is like a movie. Small and intense. I liked it and it was very original story when I read it. 

8. The Long Walk

100 teenage boys meet for a race known as “The Long Walk”. If you break the rules, you get three warnings. If you exceed your limit, what happens is absolutely terrifying…

I read it many years before the Hunger Games and I found it very good!

9. Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption

I don’t think it needs introductions. One of the best movies according to imdb. The book is also very good.

10. Needful Things

Leland Gaunt opens a new shop in Castle Rock called Needful Things. Anyone who enters his store finds the object of his or her lifelong dreams and desires: a prized baseball card, a healing amulet. In addition to a token payment, Gaunt requests that each person perform a little “deed,” usually a seemingly innocent prank played on someone else from town.

I didn’t like it that much when I read it. I think I would like it more now, because I like stories with small cities where you get to learn everyone’s personality.

11. Bag of Bones

Writer who has lost his wife, returns to his country house. There he meets a single mother and starts writting again. And supernatural stuff start to happen. 

Hmm, I always say that I didn’t like this book. But now I see that I remember many details. Maybe I did like it. It is just that the supernatural stuff were not interesting enough.

12. The Shinning

I am sure everyone knows the story at least, even if you haven’t seen the movie. I will say that it was probably the first time I got goosebumps from a book (when the mother read what the father was writing on the typewriter. Weird moment, but that is when you saw his madness).

13. Carrie

Carrie knew she should not use the terrifying power she possessed… But one night at her senior prom, Carrie was scorned and humiliated just one time too many, and in a fit of uncontrollable fury she turned her clandestine game into a weapon of horror and destruction…

His first book! It is ok, but I knew the story so I was not impressed.

14. The Green Mile

In the death ward of a prison, a new prisoner arrives. It looks like he is innocent and he has a special power.

I assume you have all watched the movie. If not, do it. I remember that in the book the rest of the prisoners were not as nice as the movie showed… wait until you read what the nice guy with the mouse had done to be sent there…

15. Under the Dome

A small town is inexplicably and suddenly sealed off from the rest of the world by an invisible force field. Things start to change inside the dome…

It was also amazing. I liked it because it showed how people change when there is a difficult situation and when they are cut out from the rest of the world. It is also a tv-series, but I stopped it after the first season.

16. Thinner

An overweight family man is involved in an accident and starts inexplicably to lose weight.

It was just ok, I wouldn’t recommend it.

17. Duma Key

Guy rents a house on the island of Duma Key and starts drawing. Then supernatural stuff happen.

I didn’t like it that much, probably because it focuses only on two characters (if I remember correctly) and because everyone is old on that island (if I remember correctly).

18. Pet Sematary

Family with a cat moves into a country house with a dangerous highway in the front and something more dangerous in the back: a cemetery where children burry their pets. 

It was a good one, different, makes you think about stuff  (I don’t want to say what kind of stuff, because of spoilers).

19. Just After Sunset

Various short stories.

I wasn’t impressed by most of them, except one called “N”. One of the best short stories I have ever read!

20. Desperation

Weird policeman on an empty city kidnaps people that drive through.

I didn’t love it… Pretty standard Stephen King stuff.

21. Cell

In one second, everyone that carries a cellphone (you can imagine how many they are) turns into some kind of zombie. We follow a group of “survivors” while they try to survive and fix the situation.  

Walking Dead before the tv series Walking Dead! I really liked it!

22. Doctor Sleep

The kid from “The Shinning” is grown-up and an alcoholic. He deals with it. Also, a group of weird people travel across USA to “feed”.

It was ok, but I didn’t love it. I have written a little more about it here.

23. 22/11/63

 

Guy finds a hole that sends you to a specific day in the 60’s. He decides to wait a couple of years in order to stop the Kennedy assassination in 22/11/63.

I liked it, it was not one of his horror books, it was more “social”. I have written some more about it here.

The end!

At least that is all I remember!

I know I have read some more short stories from him, but since I am not sure I have finished the books, I leave them out for now.

6 thoughts on “My Stephen King books

    1. Τα περισσότερα τα διάβασα όταν ήμουν κάπου 14 με 17, όποτε δεν είχα και πολύ εμπειρία από βιβλία 🙂 Αλλά γενικά ξερει να γράφει με τέτοιο τροπο που δεν θες να το αφήσεις κάτω!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

