Strange Library, by Haruki Murakami – Comparing editions

Strange Library, by Haruki Murakami is a fantasy story about a young boy that visits the public library in order to research the Ottoman Empire’s tax collection system, but ends up a prisoner of the librarian.

It is a short story, with many fantasy elements. I enjoyed it, but I have to say the artwork was distracting me from the story.

I believe this story was written in order to do create the fancy book with images that fit the story. Which is totally fine by me, I liked the art a lot.

After ordering and reading the book, I realized that it was the hardcover edition and there was also a completely different (in terms of art, the story is the same) paperback edition. I found it in the bookstore and I decided to buy it. They were kind enough to unseal it and show me the inside, because I did not know how different they were. The answer is “completely”.

 

I took some photos of random pages.

On the left side is the pink hardcover edition and on the right  the paperback edition.

2015-12-29 18.12.04

2015-12-29 18.12.36

2015-12-29 18.14.41

2015-12-29 18.15.47

2015-12-29 18.17.39

2015-12-29 18.13.43

2015-12-29 18.18.48

 

More images of the hardcover edition.

More images of the paperback edition.

 

Which one do you like more?

 

(I think I prefer the paperback, but maybe it is because I read the hardcover, so the paperback is new to me)

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Strange Library, by Haruki Murakami – Comparing editions

Leave a Reply

