My first Manga Series (Death Note)

2016-01-18 15.22.13

I really like anime and I watch for many years.

But I had never read an actual manga, because the best mangas become animes, so then I just watch the anime!

(I did recently read The Red Snake, but only this one volume. Pretty psychedelic! I enjoyed it!)

My favorite anime is Death Note: a very clever high school student finds a notebook called Death Note, that a Death God dropped. Whatever name you write in the Death Note, that person dies. The student decides to clean the world from criminals. But then the police understands that something weird is going on…

I have watched Death Note 2 or 3 times and I have actually bought the 13th volume: How to Read (it is kind of special, introducing all the characters etc.) both in japanese (when I was in Japan) and english.

2016-01-18 15.22.02

 

 

 

 

 

As you can see, I finally decided to buy the whole series, which comes in a convenient box.

2016-01-18 15.28.39

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Why did I do it now, after all these years?

I am currently watching an anime called Bakuman. It is about two high school students that decide to become manga authors (mangakas). It is a realistic anime (no death gods here) and I really really like it! After seeing them drawing manga and coming up with ideas, entering competitions, trying to get serialized… I naturally got very interested in manga too!

bakuman

I decided to buy Death Note first, since it is my favorite anime and if I enjoy reading it, I will buy more, probably even Bakuman itself!

Here are all the Death Note volumes:

2016-01-18 15.25.16

The art inside looks like this:

2016-01-18 15.26.35

There is also an extra surprise, the Rules about using a Death Note, as mentioned in the manga:

 

However it is hard to choose which manga to buy. There are many different types, I found the main ones online:

kodomo – children’s anime and manga, e.g. Doraemon
shonen – intended for boys aged 10-18, e.g. Bleach and Naruto
shojo – intended for girls aged 10-18, e.g. Fruits Basket
seinen – for adult men 18-30, e.g. Ghost in the Shell
josei – for adult women 18-30, e.g. Honey and Clover

But as I saw in Bakuman, there also more subcategories, such as mystery manga, gag manga (funny), sci-fi, etc.

Anyway, I will read Death Note and see! Maybe I will just stick to animes!

By the way, I found Bakuman because of this article:

15 Manga Series You Should Read, Based On Your Favorite Books

Other animes I liked:

  • Higurashi no Naku Koro ni (When they cry): it was AMAZING, especially the first part (first 4 episodes). A boy moves in a new village, makes friends with the local girls. But then murders start happening…
  • Fullmetal Alchemist: Brootherhood: Alchemy, magic, battles… Two brothers made a big mistake using alchemy once. Now they try to correct it. A very good anime, although these kind of battle animes kind of tire me… This is one of the most interesting ones I think. I don’t think I could watch Naruto or Bleach or One Piece for long.
  • Nana: this is a girly one 🙂 Two girls both named Nana decide to move in together, although they just met and they are very different characters: one is a punk singer and the other a romantic girl.
  • Kino no Tabi: a sweet fairy-tale kind of anime. Kino goes around the “world” (not our world) with a motorcycle. Every time there is a different kind of city.
  • Darker than Black: I also liked that one. Sci-fi. People having different kind of supernatural abilities. That is a scenario I always find interesting.
  • Mirrai Nikki: I am currently “watching” that, but although the description sounds good, I don’t like it, seems too rushed and not well-thought. Some people have Future Diaries, telling them what will happen in the future. And they have to kill each other!

The ones I plan to watch:

  • Cowboy Bepop:The year 2071 A.D. That future is now. Driven out of their terrestrial eden, humanity chose the stars as the final frontier. With the section-by-section collapse of the former nations a mixed jumble of races and peoples came. They spread to the stars, taking with them the now confused concepts of freedom, violence, illegality and love, where new rules and a new generation of outlaws came into being. People referred to them as Cowboys.
  • Steins;Gate: The eccentric mad scientist Okabe, his childhood friend Mayuri, and the otaku hacker Daru have banded together to form the “Future Gadget Research Laboratory,” and spend their days in a ramshackle laboratory hanging out and occasionally attempting to invent incredible futuristic gadgets.
  • Honey and Clover: College, friendships, love… If it is not too romantic, maybe it can replace Bakuman (when I finish it)

If you have any more suggestions about an anime or manga, please let me know!

14 thoughts on “My first Manga Series (Death Note)

      1. Hmm I don’t know if I will like this kind of battle-anime 🙂 Too “young” for me! And too many episodes! Even Fulmetall Alchemist took me long to finish. I enjoy either “sci-fi” (like Darker than Black) or realistic ones (like Bakuman). Something for older people 🙂 I have never heard of Magi, looks interesting. I will check it out!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. haha well, I grew up with Naruto, one piece and dragon ball. They are my childhood. I love Full metal alchemist too! I heard of Bakuman, i will check it out. Yes, Magi has a very interesting and deep story line. It’s sci-fi and the bad guys are never really bad.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Hola plugin for your browser! Check it out! 🙂 You can watch neflix with a usa or uk IP, and that way you have access to US and UK Netflixe (many many series) (totally legal also). But it doesn’t work on a smart-tv yet, only computer and tablet.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

