Readathon 2016: Books 11-15

Sooo I just finished my PhD thesis this week! Maybe that is why I didn’t read that many books. Or maybe it was the books’ fault…

Books11-15small

11. Tokyo Year Zero, by David Peace

IMG_20160312_130705

Readathon category: A crime book

Aaaah, I did not enjoy reading this book… And I rewarded it by wearing a dress I don’t like…

I should like it. It is a crime novel that takes place in Tokyo in 1945-1946. Every part of this sentence sounds interesting.

And although it was written in a “poetic/lyrical” way (which I hate), that did not bother me initially. For example usually every second sentence of the book is a repetitive thought of the main character, which could be something like “gari gari” (the sound of scratching your head because of lice) or a short sentence he keeps thinking over and over.

When I reached the end I realized I did not understand what the plot twist in the end was, because I had been completely lost in the abstractness of the whole book. And I did not care enough to go back and find out.

So ⭐ ⭐ from me, but I am sure many of you will find this book great.

 

12. The Buried Giant, by Kazuo Ishiguro

IMG_20160312_130932

Readathon category: A book that takes place before 1800

(there were some fantasy elements in this book, so I was a little reluctant to put it in this category… but whatever, there is no readathon police! or is there?)

The exact opposite happened with this book. It is a book that takes place some years after the death of King Arthur, in the countryside of Britain. The story includes knights, dragons, monks and an old couple that walks to go to their son’s village. Everything in this description is completely repulsive to me (except maybe the monks, I always find them interesting).

But I liked it! And since I hate everything in this story but I still liked it, means that the author is great. I have only read Never let me go by Kazuo Ishiguro, which I found amazing, but which is also totally different from this book. So two completely different books, both very good… I think I need to read more from him!

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

 

13. Equal Rites (Discworld #3), by Terry Pratchett

IMG_20160312_131152

Readathon category: a book by an author that died after 2011

Keeping up with my 2016 book resolutions, I finally read my first Terry Pratchett!

The Discworld novels don’t need to be read in a row. And everyone says the first one is not very good. However there are sub-stories. This book for example was the first of the Witches series. For more information, look at this amazing infographic.

I really like fantasy novels and surely this one was of high quality. It is the story of a girl that can become a wizard. But wizards are only men! With the help of a witch (totally different than a wizard) the girl tries to find out where she belongs.

The world was great and Pratchett writes with a lot of humor. Plus, super girl-power message, that women can be whatever they want, even wizards. But why did I struggle? One thing I can say is that surely you don’t feel any connection with the characters, there is no depth. But I never cared about that… But I was told that I should start with his 5th book and then move backwards, since Pratchett needed some time to become amazing.

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2

 

14. Neverwhere, by Neil Gaiman

IMG_20160312_131355

Readathon category: a book I discovered through somuchreading.com

I had only read one Neil Gaiman book, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, which everyone loved, but it was mediocre for me (high expectations?). So I was not really planning to expand my “Neil Gaiman horizons”.

Then I saw in the facebook page of somuchreading that BBC had made a radio adaptation of Neverwhere, with amazing actors (including Christopher Lee, Benedict Cumberbatch and James McAvoy). I had never listened to a similar radio show and I was intrigued, so I started reading the book. I read it immediately, because I saw there was a countdown to the show, it will be offline in a few days.

I cannot express with words how amazing I felt. I could not lift my head from the pages. I was so relieved. I had beginning to think that something was going wrong, that I had started to not enjoy books, maybe I should stop the readathon… I did not like Tokyo Year Zero, I liked The Buried Giant but since I disliked the setting I had to struggle a little bit and I even struggled in my first Terry Pratchett novel, which I thought I would love!

So no, it was not my fault. It was the books’ fault 🙂

It is a fantasy novel that takes place in modern London, although after the first chapters it focuses on the “London underworld” (literally, the sewers etc.) I totally recommend it. I listened to the radio show too, it was an interesting experience, but only AFTER you read the book. Keep in mind there is not even image on a radio show and there was no narrator, so everything that happened had to be made clear only through dialogue.

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

 

15. Mort (Discworld #4), by Terry Pratchett

IMG_20160312_131610

Readathon category: a book that you borrowed

I liked this one much more than Equal Rites. Death (a very important character of Discworld) hires an apprentice. And many adventures happen. Fantasy and humor again. I would recommend starting with this one. Still I cannot say that I am a super big fan of Terry Pratchett. But I will keep reading Discworld (the next one will be Guards!Guards!)

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

24 thoughts on “Readathon 2016: Books 11-15

  1. I’ve had Tokyo Year Zero on my shelves for ages, but I always seemed to prioritize other books over it for some reason. I also read my first Terry Pratchett some months ago (it was about time! :P) and I enjoyed but not loved it as I though I would :/ I’m so glad to see you loved Neverwhere! It’s definitely one of Neil Gaiman’s best books 😉

    Congratulations on completeting your PhD thesis! 😀 What topic is it on? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I even have the second book of the Tokio trilogy and I don’t know what to do with it now… I will definitely read more Neil Gaiman! My thesis was on multitasking (from a cognitive science aspect) 🙂

      Like

      1. You could always give it a try at some point, maybe the second one will be better 🙂 You definitely should! I would recommend “Coraline” or “Good Omens” which he co-wrote with Terry Pratchett 😉

        That sounds fascinating!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

