NY Times ‘By The Book’ Tag

nytimes_zpsy5il5idn

image from BigScreenSmallWords

This is a book tag I saw from Jo.

1. What book is on your nightstand now?
city

City on Fire. And judging by the size, it will stay there a while.

My tablet is also on my nightstand. I use it to read The Sandman, a graphic novel by Neil Gaiman, to mix things up a little bit.

sandman

2. What was the last truly great book that you read?
patti

 

Just Kids by Patti Smith.

I don’t know if it is a “great book”, but it was great for me personally.

3. If you could meet any writer (dead or alive), who would it be? And what would you want to know?
Hmmm… I am sure I have answered something like that before, but I don’t remember who I chose. Let’s say  Haruki Murakami. I would like to see how he is in person. I don’t have anything specific to ask him, I just want to get a feeling of what kind of person he is.
Maybe we can eat sushi together, I am always looking for people to eat sushi with.
sushi
4. What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf
3
I think it is obvious that I read many different kinds of books. I don’t know what could be surprising…
There is Twilight and Murakami, Bukowski and Hunger Games…
Maybe the books from my childhood would be surprising, because I have kept them all. Alfred Hitchcock and The Three Investigators series, Astrid Lindgren, Enid Blyton, everything is there!
5. How do you organize your personal library?
Here in Netherlands I have a small library, where the books are into 4 categories: greek, english, already-read and miscellaneous (dutch books and scientific books).
2016-04-12 14.01.19
My actual library in Greece (this is part of it, I have a little more in another room), where I take my already-read books, is weirdly “organized”.
Clear categories are children’s books, greek books, japanese literature and classics. The rest are kind of “internally” categorized, e.g. “these that I read in high school”, “these that I don’t like”, “these cool ones”…
greek
6. What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet? Anything you feel embarrassed never to have read?
I have never read Charles Dickens. Should I?
EDIT: I was just reminded by Jo’s post that I have read Dickens! I have read Great Expectations, about 15 years ago! And I liked it, even though I was young. The movie was also nice.
I have also never read Dostoyevsky, but I said I will do it this year.
7. Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you were supposed to like but didn’t? Do you remember the last book you put down without finishing?
The Girl on the Train. It is a “housewife” book dressed up as a mystery/thriller.
But I finished it of course.
The first book I ever left in the middle was The Mysterious Flame of Queen Loana, by Umberto Eco. No more Eco for me since then. It was torture.
8. What kinds of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?
Whenever I hear that a book is “sick” or “shocking” (not sexually, as these terms are usually used, in general) and/or a psychological thriller, I always feel like I want to read it. And if it is a japanese author… woohoo, they are the best in that kind of stuff!
And I stay away from the new greek “romances”.
9. If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?
americanah
Our president??? Are we talking about Tsipras or Pavlopoulos??? To leave politics outside, I will choose Obama, which I think the question is meant for (since it is NY Times Book Tag). Obama looks like a pretty cool guy to an outsider like me.
I would recommend him to read Americanah, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, since it is a book I liked a lot and it would become famous if he read it 🙂
Also there are many interesting views on racism in USA in this book, which is one topic that Obama cares about.
Oh, and give it to Michelle too please!
10. What do you plan to read next?
I WANT to read immediately at least 5 different books. But by the time I finish City on Fire, it will probably be time to go on my big trip to China. Only ebooks there! I will probably start The Dark Tower, by Stephen King.
9 thoughts on “NY Times ‘By The Book’ Tag

Leave a Reply

