Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (no spoilers)

2016-06-16 18.23.39

Last October (2015) I saw on the Facebook page of somuchreading.com a post saying that it was the last day to sign up for standing in the virtual line for the tickets for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

What was that? A theatrical play in a London theater, starting summer of 2016 and the story would be a continuation of the Harry Potter books. More specifically it would be about Harry Potter’s son.

20160616_181656

Well, I clicked the button, why not? A few days later I received an email that priority sale (for those that had clicked the button like me) had started. I clicked another button (why not?) and the screen informed me that I would have to wait about 2,5 hours. I was working at home that day, I left the tab open and continued my work.

When the 2,5 hours passed, I was informed that I had 15 minutes to make a selection.

In October of 2015 about June-August 2016. It started to get real. No more “why not” buttons. What if I defended my thesis then? Or if I had another job already? Or a conference?

I chose a date. In June, probably I would have some vacation arranged in August, June looked more safe. Would I go alone? The tickets were expensive, 45 pounds each, but the show is in two parts, so in total 90 pounds. For the previews, the dates before the actual premiere. I think it is more expensive generally.

I tried to think who would want to come with me. Someone that would have the money and time to travel to London and that would like Harry Potter enough to do so. I only had one friend in mind and she would be in China. Time was passing. I booked two tickets. I would find someone. And hopefully I would also be available these random dates (16 and 17 June 2016, before the actual premiere).

I decided to give the second ticket to my sister as a Christmas present. I was not sure if she still liked Harry Potter enough to travel all the way to London. But she was excited! Of course it was January and still we did not know what we would be doing in June.

To finish this story, let me just say I defended my PhD thesis one week after (24 June) and I started my new job two weeks after. And my sister started a new job just a couple of months before the ticket date, but before she got hired she made it clear she had plans for these dates and she would need to take time off.

And so we went!

2016-06-16 18.23.45

We got our tickets and gave 5 pounds for the program (photos and bios of authors, some extra info and stories, nothing very special, but a nice souvenir).

2016-06-16 18.53.48

There was some merchandise, but we did not buy anything.

2016-06-16 18.53.28

And then the show started.

It was AMAZING!

20160617_205849

The story was very interesting. I was really worried about that, but it was the same quality as the rest of the stories. It starts as the last book finishes, in Platform 9 3/4, when Harry’s second son goes to Hogwards for the first day. I was excited that this story would also be a book. But then I found out it will just be the theatrical play, not a real book 😦 Too bad, it would have been amazing. Come on Rowling, do it please!

20160616_185737

Apart from the story, the play was also amazing. There were actual magic tricks on stage! I did not know how they did a lot of the stuff. The actors were also very good. I specifically liked Malfoy’s son and Harry Potter, I think they played excellent. I also liked Hermione and her daughter, they were very strong female characters. Ron was mostly the “comic relief” person, I would have liked for him to have a bigger part.

Cast photos from the official website:

1

Harry (Jamie Parker), Ginny (Poppy Miller) and Albus Potter (Sam Clemmett)

2

Ron Weasley (Paul Thornley), Hermione Granger (Noma Dumezweni) along with their daughter Rose Granger-Weasley (Cherrelle Skeete)

3

Draco (Alex Price) and Scorpius Malfoy (Anthony Boyle)

In the end we were given pins with #keepthesecrets on them, so that is the end of my story here 🙂2016-07-21 08.23.21

If you can make it to London, please go to this play. It is fully booked until March now, so you know, plan ahead a little bit 🙂

Otherwise, the book is coming out real soon. It will not be the same, but at least you will know the story.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (no spoilers)

  1. Pingback: Zizeloni van Kat

Leave a Reply

