Readathon17: Books 21-25

Previous links:

Readathon17: Books 1-5

Readathon17: Books 6-10

Readathon17: Books 11-15

Readathon17: Books 16-20

 

21. Shiver, by Maggie Stiefvater

IMG_20170523_213555_338

Readathon category: a Young Adult book published after 2011

Girl is in love with a wolf that turns out to be a werewolf (yes, not the other way around).
A pretty good YA, it kept my interest by slowly revealing the nature of werewolves, how they turn, why, when, how long etc.
The love story is nice, not the usual YA stupid drama. Both teenagers are actually pretty mature, which was a relief. As far as Young Adult romance books go, I think it is a pretty good one.

⭐ ⭐ ⭐

22. Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay, by Elena Ferrante

IMG_20170529_190015_082

Readathon category: a book published in 2017 (in this case, the greek translation)

The 3rd part of the beloved Neapolitan Books follows Elena and Lila in their 30s. Elena gets married, has children, tries to become an author, becomes finally more self-confident, but gets trapped in the domestic life. Lila’s life on the other hand starts improving. No need for more spoilers. I liked it more than the second book and I can’t wait for the fourth to come out (especially since this one ended in a cliffhanger).

Note: The photo is taken in Napoli, in a neighborhood close to the one the girls grew up. I read the book there, trying to see the city that is described in the books. I loved the city and I think the books was a great contributing factor in that.

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

 

23. Mischling, by Affinity Konar

IMG_20170531_003534_969

Readathon category: a book based on real events

I am so angry with this book. It sounds awesome: twin jewish sisters become subjects of Mengele’s experiments in Auschwitz. I haven’t read anything about these experiments and I was so excited.
I didn’t like this book. The chapters alternate between the view points of the two 12-year-old sisters, Stasha and Pearl. Pearl was actually ok, her chapters were readable. But Stasha, who unfortunately had more chapters (or so it fell)… Unreadable. She was in her own world, thinking as a 7-year old, playing games instead of talking about reality.

I want facts people, not the stupid way Stasha is seeing the world. It is not a game. The language was too lyrical, artsy, I don’t know how to call it. I want to read about how things were in Mengele’s “zoo”, not literary prose.
I am sure many people would like it for the exact reason I didn’t like it, the artsy literary writing.

At least I got some historical information from the book, but it was not worth it, better read the wikipedia page and newspaper articles if you are interested in facts.

Note: in the photo I included the photos I took on my recent trip to Krakow, of two twin sisters that died in Auschwitz and they were part of the “zoo”

⭐ ⭐ 1/2

24. Doctor Who: Dr. Eleventh, by Adam Hargreaves

IMG_20170602_173503_107

Readathon category: a children’s book published after 2011

It took about 60 seconds to read it, so it felt weird to count it as a book. But children’s books can be small and I wanted to show people this book exists.

My favorite Doctor (the 11th) and beloved River Song go through many enemies to find something the Doctor lost. Such a cute book!

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ (yes 5 stars, it is perfect on it’s domain)

25. The Fifth Child, by Doris Lessing

IMG_20170606_153324_699 Readathon category: a book with a number on the title

Small book that kept me reading it until I finished it. It is the story of a couple that (despite not having a lot of money) want to have many many kids. They spent the first years of their married life in relative happiness, with 4 kids and relatives visiting often. But their 5th child is not normal. The book doesn’t exactly clarify what is wrong with that kid. He is violent and creepy and everyone is afraid of him.
I liked the moral dilemmas the mother had to face. Do what is right or try to keep my family happy? The book gave me some mild creeps, and if that happens, I think it means good writing.
I didn’t like the end. Nothing happened. I expected something. I see there is a second book, but after reading some goodreads comments, I don’t want to read it. I also didn’t like the writing in some scenes in the first half of the book, the conversations with the greater family, but I think they were not translated well.

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Overall female writers ratio: 16/25 (64%)

One thought on “Readathon17: Books 21-25

Leave a Reply

